Panorama Shoot Out

There are some really cool apps that can do great things with photography on the iPhone. This post will be the first in a series looking at the different things you can do with your iPhone camera.

I have over 25 different photography related apps on my iPhone and thought it was a time for a quick clear out of anything that I don’t need so I put Pano and DMD Panoramo to the test.

Normally I don’t spend money on apps but both of these currently cost £1.49 in the store. I bought Pano when I was in Melbourne, Australia as it was the first app in my search results when I wanted to take a panoramic picture of the Moonlight Cinema. I have to say I wasn’t too impressed with the results or the usability.

A panoramic view of a Moonlight Cinema screening of "Attack the Block" at the Royal Botanical Gardens in Melbourne

A panoramic view of a Moonlight Cinema screening of “Attack the Block” at the Royal Botanical Gardens in Melbourne

I am not sure how I ended up with DMD, perhaps it was on a limited time special offer but I hadn’t really put it to the test so now it was time for a head to head.

Pano (L) vs DMD (R)

In Pano the app layers a small section of the previous photo into the live view and once you have roughly aligned the two you can press the take picture button.

For DMD you hit the start button and then move your camera around and when the yin is aligned with the yang a green light appears and the app automatically takes the next photo. You also have the option to set the exposure to be automatically adjusted with each photo or for it be locked from the first exposure.

The first test…

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore taken with the Pano APP

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore taken with the DMD App

You can see that both apps had a problem merging the images on the right of the frame.

Time for a second test…

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore taken with the DMD App

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore

A panoramic view from a balcony looking over the Little India Area in Singapore taken with the Pano App

Both apps performed better at merging the photos on the second attempt. I think Pano is better at exposing the overall picture, but that might be because of my user error with not choosing the correct setting in DMD.

Neither app gives perfect results (this could be user error, Pano does offer a tips page that says practice makes perfect – so perhaps it’s me that needs to practice more) I have to say I prefer DMD for it’s usability but the file size of the finished panorama isn’t as good as Pano. So for now I think I will keep both and continue to test them.

What good photography apps do you have on your iPhone, has anyone found an app that takes perfect panoramas?

Quick Tips
To take a screenshot on your iPhone just press both the home and on/off button and then release, you will see a quick flash of the screen and your picture will be saved in your camera roll.

If you want to email more than one photo or if you have already started to compose an email and you want to add a photo you can go into your camera roll, press and hold one finger on the picture until you get the copy button, then copy and paste into your email. I believe in iOS 6 there will be the option to add photos to email from the Mail app.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Time-lapse Test « Rob Dawson's Blog

  2. Pingback: Photography Geekiness in Vietnam « Rob Dawson's Blog

Leave a Reply

