Knowing Me, Knowing You

I am sitting down to write this blog with a glass of O’boy while listening to Peter Bjorn & John’s album “Seaside Rock”. I admit to being a big swedophile, and being half-Swedish I think I have no need to justify this.

A sign points directions in a forest in northern Sweden, September 2005

A sign points directions in a forest in northern Sweden, September 2005

My Mum is currently in Sweden to attend her Confirmation reunion, so I thought I would have a look back at some of the photos I had taken on my previous trips.

Swedish flags flutter in the wind above the Ribersborgs Kallbadhus in Malmo October 28, 2006.

Swedish flags flutter in the wind above the Ribersborgs Kallbadhus in Malmo October 28, 2006.

When I was younger I used to travel regularly to see my Mormor, Morfar and Uncle. My mum’s family come from a remote part of northern Sweden, the house is surrounded by trees and the nearest shop is two miles away. As a kid it was great, I could go off on an adventures in the forest and entertain myself for hours building dens and destroying anthills or picking berries with Mormor.

A forest in northern Sweden, September 2005.

A forest in northern Sweden, September 2005.

All these great memories are before I started taking photography seriously. I will go back one-day, soon I hope, and make sure I document all the things I love about Sweden. Along with all these new adventures; stay at the Ice Hotel, photograph Bears in the wild, spend a night in the Tree Hotel, stroll along the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo walking tour, visit Ale’s stones in Skane, take a boat out in Stockholm’s archipelago.

A steelwork of a crown is seen on a bridge in Stockholm, September 2005

A steelwork of a crown is seen on a bridge in Stockholm, September 2005

Where would you like to revisit to recapture memories?

2 comments

  1. Its interesting coming to Sweden as an adult and experiencing simple things like picking berries for the first time, thinking about how common it is to do here since childhood.

  2. Pingback: Projects in the pipeline « Rob Dawson's Blog

Leave a Reply

