Photography Geekiness in Vietnam

I promise this will be my last post from my recent trip to Vietnam (you can check out the others here and here if you missed them). Being totally surrounded by such beautiful countryside in Sapa I thought the best to capture it would be in a panorama. You might remember I tried out a couple of apps before and didn’t come to a comprehensive conclusion as to which one was better. So I thought I would give DMD another ago and here is the result.

An auto-stitched panorama overlooking Cat Cat Village in Sapa, northern Vietnam

An auto-stitched panorama overlooking Cat Cat Village in Sapa, northern Vietnam

As you can see it has decided to repeat some of the landscape which is a really shame.

Since my post about the apps rather than being able to delete one I found myself adding another, 360 Panorama. Again it is not the best at stitching the picture together which you can check out here. It has a very cool way of navigating around the image. Which is even better on a device with a gyroscope. It will let you swing your device around as if you are standing at the spot where I took the picture.

I did also try a traditional David Hockney style joiner using Photoshop to very lazily stitch the pictures together. I chose not match the toning on the photos as I think it looks more authentic.

A joiner picture of Halong Bay

A joiner picture of Halong Bay

Of course Hanoi is very different from the calming tranquility of Halong Bay and Sapa so I thought I would attempt to capture some of the bustle of city using a time-lapse. Unfortunately I left it to the last morning before I gave it a go, when I headed up to the Legends Bar which overlooks the roundabout at the top of Hoan Kiem lake and the Old Quarter. Being the middle of the day it didn’t allow for long shutter speeds which would have really demonstrated the craziness of the traffic and the light was very boring with the sun being high In the sky, no long shadows etc. Next time I will make sure I pick a more interesting time of day for it. For the geeks reading, the time-lapse is made up of 574 frames, one taken every 5 seconds, over 47 minutes. One thing I did learn from my first trial was that at bit more post production can help. So although I created it in the same way using Photoshop, I then took it into Pinnacle Studio on my iPad and added some background noise and credits.

Hanoi Time-lapse from Rob Dawson on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

